GCC comparison
The Gulf's lowest door in.
Bahrain's BHD 130,000 is the most accessible property residency among the big Gulf schemes. Here is how they compare.
| Bahrain | UAE | Saudi Arabia | Oman | Qatar | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Property needed | BHD 130,000 (~USD 345,000) | AED 2,000,000 (~USD 545,000), one or more properties | SAR 4,000,000 (~USD 1.07M), residential, developed, mortgage-free | General minimum OMR 200,000 (~USD 520,000); property route is in Integrated Tourism Complexes | QAR 730,000 (~USD 200,000) renewable residency; QAR 3,650,000 (~USD 1M) permanent residency benefits |
| Duration | 10 years, renewable | ICP says 10 years; u.ae lists 5 years for real estate (official sources differ) | Tied to ownership of the property | 10 years renewable | Renewable while property held; permanent residency tier at QAR 3.65M |
| Off-plan | Yes, once BHD 130,000 has been paid | Allowed if bought from an approved developer (ICP) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mortgage | Not set out in official rules. Ask us. | Allowed if financed by an approved local bank (ICP); DLD FAQ says fully paid, not mortgaged (official sources differ) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Family | Spouse, children, parents, no age limit | Spouse, children regardless of age, parents | Spouse, children under 25, parents (general benefits) | Spouse, children, first-degree relatives, no age limit | Not stated |
| Minimum stay | None | Can stay outside UAE beyond 6 months | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Bahrain vs UAE
AED 2,000,000 (~USD 545,000), one or more properties
Bahrain vs Saudi Arabia
SAR 4,000,000 (~USD 1.07M), residential, developed, mortgage-free
Bahrain vs Oman
General minimum OMR 200,000 (~USD 520,000); property route is in Integrated Tourism Complexes
Bahrain vs Qatar
QAR 730,000 (~USD 200,000) renewable residency; QAR 3,650,000 (~USD 1M) permanent residency benefits
Sources: goldenresidency.gov.bh · icp.gov.ae · mondaq.com · gulfnews.com